Home >> Super Bowl XLVII Hosted by New Orleans February 3, 2013

Month: May 2012

Super Bowl XLVII Hosted by New Orleans February 3, 2013

The 47th edition, Super Bowl XLVII, will be played February 3rd, 2013 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. And because it’s annually the biggest single sports day in North America, the 2013 Mardis Gras calendar in Orleans Parish will be changed. This will be the 10th time the city of New Orleans has hosted the Super Bowl, the most of any host city in Super Bowl history.

It will be the first Super Bowl to be held in New Orleans since the Superdome sustained damage from Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

The game will be carried by CBS, which plans on charging a record high US$4,000,000 for each thirty-second advertisement. CTV will be the Canadian carrier.

Even after coming up on the short end of the score in last year’s National Football League championship game, the New England Patriots are the oddsmakers’ early favorite to win next season’s Super Bowl. The Patriots are 5-1 to win the 2013 Super Bowl by oddsmakers.

The Green Bay Packers, who had a 15-1 record during the regular season before losing to the Giants in the NFC playoffs, are listed as the second favorite at 11-2, according to offshore sportsbooks.

The Pittsburgh Steelers and Philadelphia Eagles are both listed at 6-1, followed by the Giants at 8-1. The Giants finished ahead of the Eagles this season to make the playoffs as the National Football Conference’s East division winner.

The New Orleans Saints and San Francisco 49ers have 10-1 odds, with the San Diego Chargers and Houston Texans at 12-1. The other New York team, the Jets, are tied for the 13th-best odds among 32 NFL teams at 20-1.

The Giants’ odds of winning the Super Bowl at the start of the 2011 season were 25-1, while the the Patriots were the pre-season favorites at 9-2.


  • New England Patriots 5-1
  • Green Bay Packers 11-2
  • Pittsburgh Steelers 6-1
  • Philadelphia Eagles 6-1
  • New York Giants 8-1
  • New Orleans Saints 10-1
  • San Francisco 49ers 10-1
  • San Diego Chargers 12-1
  • Houston Texans 12-1
  • Chicago Bears 17-1
  • Detroit Lions 18-1
  • Atlanta Falcons 18-1
  • Dallas Cowboys 20-1
  • Baltimore Ravens 20-1
  • New York Jets 20-1
  • Indianapolis Colts 25-1
  • Tennessee Titans 30-1
  • Cincinnati Bengals 30-1
  • Buffalo Bills 50-1
  • Kansas City Chiefs 50-1
  • Seattle Seahawks 50-1
  • Denver Broncos 50-1
  • Carolina Panthers 50-1
  • Miami Dolphins 50-1
  • St. Louis Rams 50-1
  • Oakland Raiders 60-1
  • Minnesota Vikings 60-1
  • Arizona Cardinals 60-1
  • Cleveland Browns 75-1
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers 100-1
  • Washington Redskins 125-1
  • Jacksonville Jaguars 150-1